A stagnating educational system

photo-1478641300939-0ec5188d3802

I hope you noticed that we are in a world where everything change quickly. We are living in an era where all cars will be soon driver-less, where we will soon, possibly make a trip in space and where we will speak with aliens (I’m maybe too optimistic on that point but who knows ?). Everything has become easy, we send messages all around the world, we have ebooks, we can learn everything by ourself on the web and we can travel easily. But is it the case for education ?

Did you notice a big improvement in schools since you started primary school (I mean the way of teaching and learning, not punishments, …)? For my part, I didn’t.

A teacher and students sitting in front of desks, that’s how we imagine school in our head. That’s also how people saw schools during the 4th century (I’m not kidding). It’s false to say that actual schools are exact clones of schools in the 4th century but the way to teach (teacher standing in front of students) is the same.

I heard a lot of sentences like :

  • “I don’t fit in the scholar system”
  • “Your child is maybe too smart for his age”

That’s when I asked myself : “Is this scholar system well shaped ?”. And I found an answer when I did an exam on my favorite topic (Philosophy) and I received a 6/20. I like to think about existential questions and things like that but all I had to learn is authors (name, birth date, …). As you can imagine it’s hard to face that kind of grades especially when you work lot of time in the domain.

Some of you are thinking that we can give specialized education for everyone and that’s maybe true but I think it’s worth a try. We can’t give up on that kind of domain. Education is the key for a better future and it opens doors of innovations.

Maybe the actual system is deprecated and it’s time to change (That’s what I think). We need to send our kids in schools that can teach important basics of life like oral speaking, body gesture, critical thinking, … And unfortunately that’s not the case today.

We will talk about possible improvements for schools in next articles but now I need your feedbacks by email, comments and shares so please feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

